Our commitments 

In general:

drastically reduce the most polluting forms of transport (planes, petrol/diesel vehicles), and only fly when a project clearly justifies it: for example, when there is no real alternative transport by train, several concerts will be given, and the organiser is engaging in local educational projects and ways of involving new audiences

favouring the development of local projects, aiming for a growth of long-term exchanges and the inclusion of different audiences

raise awareness amongst colleagues, students, audiences and institutions and encourage discussions about social and environmental subjects


show solidarity towards colleagues in the most difficult situations

For organisations :

 

encourage conductors and soloists to take the most environmentally responsible forms of transport, including a financial clause, where necessary, in the contract, and reducing / limiting the number of invited artists that use the most polluting forms of transport

 

avoid transporting instruments and material which can be locally sourced 


rethinking the logistics of rehearsals and tours, favouring the most eco-responsible suppliers (local caterers that do not use packaging, those that use recyclable materials, hotels with sustainable labels…)

 

implement an environmental policy designed to reduce the organisation’s negative impact

 

- contribute to more social justice in the musical world, in particular through influencing institutions and public authorities

 

 

For those that would like to go further: (please see the contributions page for more ideas)

compensate for your carbon footprint by donating to a specialist organisation 

 

publicise your environmental engagement, in particular to your suppliers, to inspire them to engage in similar practices 

 

don’t hesitate to speak out about your lifestyle choices and to become a point of information and initiatives 

 

- implement policies to encourage the public to use greener forms of transport (replace carparks with bike storage facilities; encourage, perhaps with financial incentives, the use of public transport; organise shuttle buses, once you have researched from where your audience is coming)


submit the granting of public finances to ecological and social criteria, in particular for touring, where a charter could be used, considering the different aspects of a tour (duration, number of concerts, the possibility to travel ‘cleanly’, the local impact…) 

 

reduce the environmental impact of administrative activities by improving: the office building (e.g. insulation, heating, air-conditioning, lighting…); consumable goods (recycling paper, reducing the amount of marketing materials printed whilst making those needed with environmentally-friendly materials); the use of resources (repair instead of replace computers, smartphones, printers etc.); and the use of digital tools (reduce the size of emails and the amount of recipients, limit the amount of searches…)

 

favour sponsors whose environmental engagement is clear and coherent

Nos engagements 

- Diminuer drastiquement les transports les plus émetteurs de gaz à effet de serre (avion, véhicules à moteur thermique), et utiliser l’avion seulement si le projet le justifie pleinement : pas d’alternative réaliste en train, plusieurs concerts sur place, participation locale à des actions d’éducation et de transmission vers des publics éloignés des salles de concert...

- favoriser le développement de projets de proximité impliquant davantage d’échanges sur le long terme et avec différents publics

- sensibiliser les collègues, les élèves, les publics et les institutions et favoriser les échanges autour des thématiques sociales et environnementales
-
faire preuve de solidarité avec les plus précaires de nos collègues

Pour les organisations :


- inciter les chef∙fe∙s et solistes à adopter des moyens de transport écoresponsables, en ajoutant le cas échéant une clause financière dans le contrat, et réduire / limiter le nombre d'artistes invités utilisant les transports les plus émetteurs de gaz à effet de serre

- éviter les transports d’instruments et de matériel que l’on peut trouver sur place
-
repenser la logistique des répétitions et tournées en privilégiant les fournisseurs les plus éco- responsables (caterings locaux et sans emballages, objets recyclables, hôtellerie HQE...)

- mettre en place une politique de réduction de l’impact environnemental de l’organisation (charte)

- contribuer à plus de justice sociale dans le monde musical, notamment en pesant sur les institutions et les pouvoirs publics

Pour celles et ceux qui veulent aller plus loin (à compléter et à enrichir) :

- compenser son empreinte carbone par des dons à des organisations spécialisées

- afficher son engagement environnemental, notamment auprès des fournisseurs, pour les inciter à des pratiques plus vertueuses

- ne pas hésiter à prendre la parole pour évoquer ses choix de vie et se faire le relais d’informations ou d’initiatives

mettre en place une politique d’encouragement du public à employer les transports propres (remplacer les parkings de voiture par des parkings à vélos, inciter –éventuellement financièrement– à prendre les transports en commun, mettre en place des navettes après avoir enquêté sur les origines géographiques du public)
-
soumettre les financements publics à des critères écologiques et sociaux, en particulier pour les tournées, peut-être sous la forme d’une charte qui prennent en compte les différents aspects de la tournée (durée, nombre de concerts, possibilité de voyager propre, impact local…)

- réduire l’empreinte environnementale de l’activité administrative en travaillant (liste non limitative) sur le bâtiment (isolation, chauffage, climatisation, éclairage…), sur les consommables (recyclage du papier, réduction de la quantité d’objets de marketing et fabrication en matériaux écologiques…), sur le matériel (réparer plutôt que remplacer les ordinateurs, les smartphones, les imprimantes, etc.), sur l’utilisation des outils numériques (alléger les emails et réduire le nombre de destinataires, limiter les requêtes sur internet…)

- préférer les mécènes dont l'engagement écologique est clair et cohérent